By car and motorbike

Types of practices
Distance
Difficulty
Duration
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
blur-effect
L'église Saint-Rémi et la "sonnerie du perdu"
L'église Sainte-Marguerite
Jean de Nivelles
La Fontaine du Perron
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
La collégiale Sainte-Gertrude de Nivelles
La Chapelle du Try au Chêne
Moulin de Chevelipont
Chapelle du Try au Chêne
Chapelle du Try au Chêne
Abbaye de Villers
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs
marqueur-circuit

Must-see abbeys & sites in Roman Païs

Credit : /

Discover a driving route that will take you to see the must-see abbeys and sites in Roman Païs!

Medium
59 km
0 m
0 m
Style : Roadtrip
Public : Backpacker
Themes : CulturalPatrimonyTourism of memoryMajor sitesHistoryReligious
marqueur-circuit
Select background map
CARTES / IGN
CARTES / IGN
SCAN EXPRESS CLASSIQUE / IGN
SCAN EXPRESS CLASSIQUE / IGN
CARTES TOPOGRAPHIQUES / IGN
CARTES TOPOGRAPHIQUES / IGN
OPEN STREET MAP
OPEN STREET MAP
GOOGLE MAP - SATELLITE
GOOGLE MAP - SATELLITE
GOOGLE MAP - PLAN
GOOGLE MAP - PLAN
GOOGLE MAP - HYBRIDE
GOOGLE MAP - HYBRIDE
PLAN / IGN
PLAN / IGN
SCAN EXPRESS STANDARD / IGN
SCAN EXPRESS STANDARD / IGN
PARCELLES CADASTRALES
PARCELLES CADASTRALES
CARTES LITTORALES / SHOM/IGN
CARTES LITTORALES / SHOM/IGN
CARTES AERONAUTIQUES OACI / IGN
CARTES AERONAUTIQUES OACI / IGN
PHOTOS AERIENNES / IGN
PHOTOS AERIENNES / IGN
IGN BELGIQUE
IGN BELGIQUE
Nearby tours
Nearby of points of interest

Starting point

33 Rue de Saintes
1400 Nivelles
Lat : 50.59591Lng : 4.32621
Poi picture
Centre culturel Waux-Hall

The cultural centre of Nivelles in Roman Païs is the performance hall suitable for all kinds of events, from conferences to plays, and even the well-known ”târte al djote” award ceremony.

Place Albert 1er 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Les vieux quartiers

Saved from the destructive wrath of German bombings in May 1940, this old quarter in the heart of the city of Nivelles, lovingly "taken over" by those who treasure the structures steeped in history of their city, offers the visitor an unexpected getaway in Walloon Brabant. At the South-West of the Grand’Place and the collegiate church Sainte-Gertrude of Nivelles, the Saint-Jacques neighbourhood remained intact. Its winding cobblestoned lanes will plunge you into a timeless atmosphere. It owes its name to the hotels, hospice, and churches, now gone, that accommodated, in particular, pilgrims en route for Compostela. We also have to mention the 16th-century Renaissance ‘Sainte-Gertrude’ house, with its façade built of dressed stone, and the old ‘Grange Bayard’, an impressive residence in Regency style (18th-century) at the corner of the Rue du Coq. A bit further on, in the Rue de Charleroi, near the Church of the Récollets, the house of the last bailiff of the abbess of Nivelles, a robust but elegant residence with two beautiful 18th-century Classical facades, faces the former episcopal seminary (1608). The former Hôtel du Baron de Taye in the Rue de la Religion, the former refuges of the Abbey of Aywières and the Knights of Malta, the private mansions in the Rue Saint-Georges or the house with the cannonballs embedded in the façade in the Rue du Pont Gotissart are all worth a detour. Within a stone’s throw of the collegiate church of Nivelles, the old fortified tower from the town walls, the Simone Tower (or Devil’s Tower) dates from the 12th century. However, the structure called "La Tourette", dating from the beginning of the 17th century is an elegant building in Renaissance style which was erected by the abbess Marguerite de Haynin, who used it as a country house. Outside this urban area, impressive buildings evoke the rural dependencies of Nivelles: the Ferme du Chapitre in Baulers, the Ferme de l’Abbaye in Monstreux or the Ferme and the Château de la Tournette, splendid 18th/19th-century set.

25 Rue des Brasseurs 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
L'église Sainte-Marguerite

2-4 Rue des Ecoles 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Parc de la Dodaine

Enjoy the superb environment as you relax with your family. The park was fitted out at the beginning of the 19th century. A French garden, two ponds, an English garden and flowerbeds stand between the walkways. As you stroll through, admire the magnificent sculptures by Albert Desenfans, Ducaju and Michiels. Don't miss the grimacing neo-Gothic gargoyles or the 17th century Baroque gate recovered from the St. Gertrude Collegiate Church. At the bottom of the garden, sports and leisure facilities are available. The Reine Astrid sports field and a large multipurpose gym await football, hockey, tennis, basketball and track teams.

7 Avenue J. Mathieu 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La Tour Simone

The Simone Tower, also called the Devil’s Tower and located close to the collegiate church Sainte-Gertrude of Nivelles, was for many years the premises of the League of Crossbowmen (Serment des arbalétriers), one of the civilian bodies charged with defending the ramparts of the city. Renovated in 2006, this tower is now the last testimony to the medieval walls which were constructed in the 12th century. There were no fewer than eleven towers and seven portcullis gates. The rampart was composed of a mighty fortification 2.50 m thick, surrounded by partially flooded moats outside, and reinforced with 8 m-wide embankments inside. In the tower, the guardroom, vaulted and pierced by arrow-loops, now houses a 3 dimensional map of the city of Nivelles as it looked around 1600, defended by the rampart and its moats. The tower is now accessible as part of a guided visit of the city of Nivelles.

36 Rue Seutin 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Jean de Nivelles

47 Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La Fontaine du Perron

2 Rue de Saintes 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Jean de Nivelles

51 Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
L'Eglise des Récollets

The single-nave church of the Récollets in Nivelles in Walloon Brabant, also called SS Jean and Nicolas, will impress you with its architecture and history. In fact, it is the church of a convent of Franciscan monks which was attached to it. Taken together, it constitutes the only monastery complex preserved in Nivelles, and is also one of the rare examples of Franciscan architecture extant in our regions. The Récollets Church is part of a remarkable architectural complex built from 1524 onwards using funding provided by Charles V and his aunt Margaret of Austria. According to her wish, the monks – who were established in Nivelles 20 years after the death of Saint Francis of Assisi (1226) – were attached to the branch of the 'Friars Minor Récollets' (Frères mineurs récollets), who lived in an austere and retired way. After the disturbances and demolitions of the 1580s, the church was rebuilt and experienced a long period of prosperity and an incontestable spiritual radiance until the end of the 18th century. Since the departure of the last monks at the beginning of the 19th century, the building was allocated for a variety of uses: hospital, hospice, Royal secondary school and courthouse. The process of listing the monastery buildings is underway. The church, which is heritage-listed, was restored for worship in 1960 and its restoration was completed in 1972. The play of colours of the blue and white stones highlights the great simplicity of the edifice, typical of the Brabant Late Gothic style. The soaring bays and powerful buttresses elegantly punctuate the single nave of this vast sanctuary. The only decorative feature is the Flamboyant Gothic style tracery that adorns the tops of the windows. The interior space, profound and luminous, leaves an impression of soberness and vertical élan. The keystone of the choir is adorned with an escutcheon with the arms of Charles V. A bay in the south side wall houses the reconstruction of the shrine of Saint Marie d'Oignies.

34 Rue de Charleroi 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Die Stiftskirche der Heiligen Gertrud

The St. Gertrude Collegiate Church is the pride and joy of Nivelles, with its impressive 102m nave with two opposing choirs and its 11th century crypt. This is one of the largest Romanesque churches in the world, an exceptionally handsome, grandiose monument that was consecrated in 1046 by Wazon, Bishop of Liege, before Henry III Emperor of the Holy German Empire.The Collegiate Church is still in use, regularly assembling Christians from the St. Gertrude Parish. You can also visit the crypt, the archaeological basement, the cloister and the central steeple that houses the bells and carillon.The southern turret boasts the Jean de Nivelles jacquemart, a copper warrior some 2.08 m high.The Nivelles Collegiate Church is a must-see. Don't miss it!

Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La Collégiale Sainte-Gertrude

Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Musée communal d'Archéologie, d'Art et d'Histoire

Sculpture, panting, and furniture from the 15th to 18th centuries. In particular: Collection of late Brabançon Gothic sculptures. Collection of terra cotta drafts and sketches (bozzetti), plaster and marble works by the sculptor Laurent Delvaux (1696-1778). Brussels tapestry. Musical instruments. Nivelles furniture. Second floor devoted to prehistoric and Gallo-Roman archaeology: development of tools and technologies, aspects of everyday life. The objects come from excavations carried out in the region by the museum. In particular: excavations in progress on the Bons-Villers Gallo-Roman site at Liberchies (Pont-à-Celles). Large corner house built in 1764 to house the Trinitarian refuge of the Orival priory.

27 Rue de Bruxelles 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Collégiale Sainte-Gertrude

Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La collégiale Sainte-Gertrude de Nivelles

6044 Grand'Place 1400 Nivelles
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Bois d'Hez

The largest of seven forests in Baisy-Thy. 5 public paths are reserved for walkers.

1 Bois d'Hez 1470 Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La Chapelle du Try au Chêne

Chemin de la Chapelle du Try au Chenes 1470 Bousval
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Abtei von Villers

Explore its new reception-shop area with a wide choice of local products, its interpretive centre and its new tour itinerary. Get a panoramic 180° view of all the Abbey. And immerse yourself in the past with the Ardoise, the interactive augmented reality tablet! At each of the 20 stations on your itinerary you can access a variety of scripted multimedia content. Augmented reality breathes life back into the architectural features and to people now dead.


The Abbey has 5 gardens of very different styles. The Jarden des Simples of Medieval inspiration and the Jardin des Moines have medicinal plants from yesteryear and today. The Jardin de la Pharmacie and the Jardin de l'Abbé are two ornamental gardens. The fifth Abbey Garden touches the senses and the olfactory one in particular.


Also visit the micro-brewery and try the house-made beers. The micro-brewery opens its doors every 2nd Saturday of the month at 2pm, 3pm and 5pm for a 45-minute guided tour.


Pass through the vineyard on a guided tour (1hr30) every 1st Saturday in September at 14.30 and finish with a tasting.


With the family of friends, explore Villers-la-Ville Abbey, its architecture, its history, its gardens and its animals!


The Abbey launches two annual subscription packages (unlimited access to the Abbey for one year as of the date of purchase. These subscription packages save their holders money from their second visit on):
- The Personal Pass
- The Family Pass.

55 Rue de l'Abbaye 1495 Villers-la-Ville
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Moulin de Chevelipont

7 Rue de Chevelipont 1490 Court-St.-Étienne
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Chapelle du Try au Chêne

Cette chapelle robuste en briques fût érigée en 1608 par le Capitaine Thierry le Jeune, seigneur de la Baillerie. La façade comporte une cartouche à sa mémoire. A lire, à droite de la porte, sur le mur, une inscription en vieux français : "Cette chapelle est dressée et fondée des moyens du capitaine Thirry Lejeune, seigneur de la Baillerie, lequel par invocation de Notre-Dame de Haultétant échappé plusieurs périls de la mort en la guerre l'espace de 30 ans de voeux et piété lui dédie et consacre la présente, 1608".

1 Rue Try au Chêne 1470 Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Abbaye de Villers

8 Rue de l'Abbaye 1495 Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Bois de Lauzelle

The Bois de Lauzelle, a real gem of nature in Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve, is a great place to come for some peace and quiet. On your walk in the soothing atmosphere of this natural space, you can spot many animals and birds while also admiring the very diverse flora, highly valued by scientists in this part of Walloon Brabant.

avenue de Lauzelle 1348 Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Provinzdomäne "Bois des Rêves"

The Provincial Domain Bois des Rêves is a haven of peace for young and old in the centre of Walloon Brabant. 67 ha of nature devoted exclusively to leisure, to be enjoyed as your heart desires … Those who like walking and cycling have 17 km of waymarked paths and trails to explore. Children will love the huge playground designed specially for them with safety in mind.Athletes can check out the closed-circuit mountain bike track or try to best the 15 obstacles on the 1500 m health trail.Persons with reduced mobility have not been forgotten, a 500m health track with 9 obstacles has been designed specially for them.From April to November, the pond is open for fishing. The "Bois des Rêves" … An ideal spot for a get together of family and friends.

1 Allée du Bois des Rêves 1340 Ottignies
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Domaine provincial du Bois des Rêves

Le Domaine provincial du Bois des Rêves, est un havre de paix pour les grands et les petits, au cœur du Brabant wallon…

67 ha de nature dédiés à la détente, à découvrir au gré de vos envies...

En toute quiétude, les amateurs de promenades peuvent parcourir les 17 km de chemins et sentiers balisés. Les enfants sont à la fête, en toute sécurité, dans l'immense plaine de jeux conçue pour eux.

Les sportifs peuvent tester une piste V.T.T en circuit fermé ou les 15 obstacles d'une piste de santé de 1500 mètres. D'avril à novembre, l'étang est accessible aux amateurs de pêche au blanc.

Durant l'été, si le temps le permet, la piscine ravira les petits et grands en quête de fraicheur. D'avril à octobre, le site offre aussi la possibilité de location d'emplacement barbecue avec abri.

Les personnes à mobilité réduite ne sont pas oubliées : une piste de santé de 500 mètres avec 9 obstacles leur est réservée.

Le "Bois des Rêves"... le lieu idéal en famille ou entre amis.

Domaine provincial du Bois des Rêves
Allée du Bois des Rêves 1
1340 Ottignies
+3210416072
boisdesreves@brabantwallon.be
www.boisdesreves.be

1 Allée du Bois des Rêves 1340 Ottignies-Louvain-la-Neuve
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Site du Paradis à Braine-L'Alleud

Rue du Paradis 1420 Braine-l'Alleud
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Kinepolis Imagibraine

Boulevard de France 1420 Braine-l'Alleud
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Letztes Hauptquartier von Napoleon

Napoleon’s Last Headquarters is the only Napoleonic museum in Belgium. It was at this former farmhouse that Napoleon devised his strategy and drew up his battle plans.Located 4 km from the Mound of the Lion, the museum’s authentic period interior is home to a host of items of which the majority come from the French army, and they include the Emperor’s camp bed.In the layout of the Last Headquarters, visitors will be better able to soak up this historic location and gain a better understanding of history, while having fun. The focus is on the events of the night of 17 to 18 June and many stories from civil and military life. Audio guides tracing the course of the Battle will accompany you from room to room, following the fate of various protagonists.To guarantee access for all, the museum has developed different reading levels for adults and children. Particular attention is also paid to those with mobility problems, the partially sighted and the hard of hearing.Fancy a virtual tour? Click here to see inside the museum.

66 Chaussée de Bruxelles 1472 Vieux-Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Schlachtfeld von Waterloo - Der Löwenhügel

Discover the site of the battle of 18th June 1815 where 300 000 men from 7 nations clashed. The Memorial 1815 pass combines various attractions linked to the Waterloo Battlefield:- After a memorable climb of 226 steps, the Lion's Mound gives you a unique view of the battlefield.- Buried at the foot of the Lion's Mound, the Memorial allows you to experience one of the most turbulent times in our History as if you were there.- An immense panoramic frieze (circumference 110m, height 12m) made in 1912 takes you to the heart of the battle with an impressive soundtrack.- Last authentic witness of the battle, the Hougoumont Farm provides a unique setting: 4 exhibition rooms coupled with a multimedia show.

1815 Route du Lion 1420 Braine-l'Alleud
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
L'hôpital des Anglais

On June 15th 1815, the Duke of Wellington decided to establish his field hospital at the farm of Mont-Saint-Jean. During and after the battle of Waterloo, near 6000 soldiers were treated there. This former, hardly ever sanitized hospital is now a museum. Discover the work of surgeons in times of war, the surgical instruments used, the weapons, uniforms, ammunition ... with an impressive recontextualisation of the facts. Stories and illustrations of the work of the Scottish surgeon Charles Bell, present at the site in June 1815, are also on show. The broader history of the farm is also presented. More than eight centuries old, it was occupied by the Order of Malta, turned into a farm and housed a brewery. Take the opportunity to enjoy the Waterloo beer, brewed on site.

591 Chaussée de Charleroi 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Mémorial 1815

Le Mémorial 1815 regroupe 4 activités sur un seul site, le Champ de Bataille de Waterloo 1815 !

Mémorial :
Enterré au pied de la Butte du Lion, le Mémorial vous permet de vivre une des époques les plus tourmentées de notre Histoire ... comme si vous y étiez. Guidé par un soldat de votre armée favorite, vous découvrez la mécanique qui conduit inexorablement au coeur de la bataille, dans une expérience multisensorielle unique en Europe! Pendant 15 minutes, vivez les phases clés, en taille réelle: sur un écran 3D, panoramique de 25 mètres de base, dans une salle truffée d'effets spéciaux!

Panorama :
À côté du Mémorial 1815, le Panorama, vaste bâtiment circulaire, abrite la toile peinte par Louis Dumoulin en 1912 pour la célébration du premier centenaire de la bataille. Cette gigantesque fresque atteint les dimensions spectaculaires, dignes de son sujet éminemment dramatique : 110 mètres de circonférence sur 12 mètres de haut.

Butte du Lion:
Cette butte de 40 mètres fut érigée à l'endroit présumé où le Prince d'Orange (1792-1849) fut blessé avant de devenir Roi des Pays-Bas (de 1840 à 1849). Du haut du tertre, le regard embrasse l'ensemble du Champ de bataille et il est alors facile de se rendre compte de ce que purent être les formations en carré de l'infanterie ou des déploiements de la cavalerie. Une table d'orientation indique les positions défendues aux différentes étapes de la bataille.

Ferme d'Hougoumont:
Cette ferme fortifiée fut le cadre de combats meurtriers. Position avancée protégeant l'aile droite des alliés au même titre que la ferme de la Haie-Sainte et la ferme de Papelotte, Napoléon y déclencha l'action le 18 juin vers 11h30. Ce qui ne devait être au départ qu'une manœuvre de diversion est devenu le point le plus violent de la bataille. Les assauts français y furent terribles et vains. On s'y battit férocement jusque vers 19 heures. Le verger et le jardin changèrent sept fois de mains tandis que les bâtiments restèrent aux mains des 1 500 soldats de la coalition. Le corps de logis fut incendié. La maison que l'on voit aujourd'hui est l'ancienne maison du jardinier. Victor Hugo lui a consacré deux chapitres dans son ouvrage Les Misérables.

315 Route du Lion 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Ferme de la Haie Sainte

Cette belle ferme, tout comme Hougoumont et la Papelotte, fut transformée en fortin par les Alliés (6 compagnies du 2ème bataillon d’infanterie légère de la Légion Germanique du Roi (KGL), renforcées plus tard par 2 compagnies nassauviennes). Lorsque les Français réussirent à occuper la ferme, il était trop tard pour changer le sort de la bataille.

2 Chaussée de Charleroi 1380 Lasne
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Monument Gordon

Premier monument élevé sur le champ de bataille en 1817 par sa famille, en l’honneur du lieutenant colonel Gordon, 29 ans, aide de camp de Wellington et mortellement blessé durant la bataille.

63 Rue de Bruxelles 1472 Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Ferme d'Hougoumont

Lieu emblématique de la bataille de Waterloo. Cette ferme fortifiée fut le cadre de combats meurtriers. Position avancée protégeant l'aile droite des alliés au même titre que la ferme de la Haie-Sainte et la ferme de Papelotte, Napoléon y déclencha l'action le 18 juin vers 11h30. Ce qui ne devait être au départ qu'une manœuvre de diversion est devenu le point le plus violent de la bataille. Les assauts français y furent terribles et vains. On s'y battit férocement jusque vers 19 heures. Le verger et le jardin changèrent sept fois de mains tandis que les bâtiments restèrent aux mains des 1 500 soldats de la coalition. Le corps de logis fut incendié. La maison que l'on voit aujourd'hui est l'ancienne maison du jardinier.
Victor Hugo lui a consacré deux chapitres dans son ouvrage Les Misérables.


Une nouvelle scénographie époustouflante. La ferme d' Hougoumont fait partie intégrante du ticket combiné Mémorial 1815 et renferme depuis le 18 juin 2015 une scénographie inédite: 4 salles d'exposition ainsi qu'un spectacle multimédia impressionnant!

Heures d'ouverture et accès:
Fermée en semaine du 06/01 au 22/02
Ouverture sur demande 48h avant.
Ouverte les week end.

Site web:
www.waterloo1815.be/presentation-memorial-waterloo-1815/

1 Chemin du Goumont 1420 Braine-l'Alleud
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Monument français de l'Aigle blessé

Cette œuvre émouvante du sculpteur français Gérôme fut élevée à la mémoire de l’armée française et dédiée aux Derniers Combattants de la Grande Armée, à l’endroit présumé où le dernier carré de la Garde Impériale mena une ultime et vaine résistance face aux Alliés.

18 N5 1380 Lasne
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Colonne Victor Hugo

Victor Hugo réserva dans son œuvre un chapitre épique à la tragédie de Waterloo. Dans «les Misérables» et «Les Châtiments», il traduit la grandeur impériale et dévoile son naufrage dans ce qu’il appela la «morne» plaine.

3 Chaussée de Charleroi 1380 Plancenoit
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Ferme de la Belle Alliance

Curieusement, la ferme de la Belle Alliance ne doit pas sa dénomination à la rencontre historique des deux vainqueurs de Waterloo, Wellington et Blücher, au soir de la bataille. Cette appellation lui fut attribuée, à la suite du mariage de la propriétaire du bien avec son valet de ferme !

1 Chaussée de Charleroi 1380 Plancenoit
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Dernier Quartier Général de Napoléon

Le Dernier Quartier Général de Napoléon est le seul musée napoléonien de Belgique. C'est dans cette ancienne ferme que Napoléon a imaginé sa stratégie et ses plans de bataille.

Situé à 4 km de la Butte du Lion, le musée abrite, dans un décor authentique d'époque, une multitude d'objets provenant essentiellement de l'armée française, dont le lit de camp de l'Empereur.

La nouvelle scénographie du DQGN permet de mieux s’imprégner de ce lieu historique, de mieux comprendre l’histoire, tout en se divertissant. L’accent est mis sur les événements de la nuit du 17 au 18 juin et sur de nombreuses anecdotes de la vie civile et militaire.

Suivez Napoléon, ses officiers, les aides de camps et les chirurgiens durant les heures qui ont précédé la bataille ! Des audio-guides retraçant le déroulement de la bataille vous accompagnent de salle en salle au-travers de plusieurs protagonistes.

Afin de garantir l’accessibilité à tous, le musée a développé différents niveaux de lecture (adultes et enfants). Une attention particulière est également portée aux personnes à mobilité réduite, malvoyantes et malentendantes.

Un magnifique verger accueille chaque année un bivouac de plusieurs centaines de soldats.

Heures d'ouverture:
Tous les jours :
Du 01/04 au 30/09 : 9h30 - 18h
Du 01/10 au 31/03 : 10h - 17h
Fermé le 01/01 et le 25/12

Site web :
www.dernier-qg-napoleon.be/

66 Chaussée de Bruxelles 1470 Genappe
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Monument aux Prussiens

Erigé en 1819 à Plancenoit, en souvenir des 6.700 Prussiens morts sur le champ de bataille, ce mémorial est dû au plus célèbre architecte allemand du XIXème siècle, Schinkel.

Chemin de Camuselle 1380 Plancenoit
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Ferme de la Papelotte

Incendiée lors des combats de 1815 et reconstruite en 1860, la ferme, défendue par un régiment de Nassau, constitua un bastion couvrant le flanc gauche des troupes de Wellington. Le soir de la bataille, un corps d’armée allemand y déboucha, déterminant la complète déroute de l’armée française.

41 Chemin de la Papelotte 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Couvent de Fichermont

Soeur Sourire, auteur-interprète du retentissant tube «Dominique», n°1 au Top américain en 1963, a vécu dans le Couvent de Fichermont, situé à quelques centaines de mètres de la célèbre Butte du Lion.

21a Rue de la Croix 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Monument des Hanovriens

Erigé en 1818, le Monument des «Hanovriens» est un bloc en pierre bleue, en forme de pyramide tronquée, érigé en l’honneur de la King’s German Legion (KGL), vaillants défenseurs de la Haie Sainte.

184 N5 1380 Lasne
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Monument aux Belges

Erigée en 1914, cette oeuvre de Callewaerts commémore le sacrifice des soldats belges tués le 18 juin 1815. En 1815, la Belgique indépendante n’existait pas encore et des Belges combattirent dans les deux camps.

611 Chaussée de Charleroi 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
L'Hôpital des Anglais à la Ferme de Mont-Saint-Jean

Le 15 juin 1815, le duc de Wellington décida d’établir son hôpital de campagne dans la Ferme de Mont-Saint-Jean. Pendant et après la bataille de Waterloo, près de 6000 soldats y furent soignés.

Cet ancien hôpital, guère aseptisé, est aujourd’hui devenu un musée. Venez découvrir le travail des chirurgiens en temps de guerre, les instruments de chirurgie utilisés, les armes, les uniformes, les munitions,… avec une recontextualisation des faits impressionnante.

Des témoignages et des illustrations du travail du chirurgien écossais Charles Bell présent sur les lieux en juin 1815 seront également exposés.

L’histoire plus large de la ferme est aussi présentée. Vieille de plus de huit siècles, elle a été occupée par l’Ordre de Malte, s'est muée en exploitation agricole et a accueilli une brasserie. Profitez-en également pour déguster la bière de Waterloo, brassée sur place.

591 Chaussée de Charleroi 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
La Butte du Lion

Route du Lion 1410 Waterloo
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Ferme d'Hougoumont

Hougoumont Farm, also known as Goumont Farm (referring to the place in Braine-l’Alleud), is generally accepted as the last authentic witness to the Battle of Waterloo. Hougoumont Farm is unquestionably the most emblematic and the best preserved in terms of how it looked in the aftermath of the Battle. It witnessed fierce fighting between the French and the English. The English front, some 3.5 km long from Hougoumont to La Papelotte, withstood the French offensive during the day on 18 June 1815. In fact the Duke of Wellington used to say that “the success of the battle turned upon the closing of the gates at Hougoumont”. After the battle, most of the buildings at Hougoumont lay in smoke and ruins. The walls of the few surviving buildings were pockmarked by shells and bullets. The trees were in a dreadful state, with their mangled trunks and their branches and leaves torn off. The castle, which was an utter wreck, was obviously uninhabitable. All that remains of the castle today are its foundations. Do come and explore this place of memory, reflection and reconciliation, with its new layout focusing on the historic events at Hougoumont through various sequences, bas-reliefs and other documents. In addition, the English troops will finally be given their commemorative monument, which is installed in the courtyard.

Chemin du Goumont 1420 Braine-l'Alleud
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
Poi picture
Château de Bois-Seigneur-Isaac

30km from Brussels, the Bois-Seigneur-Isaac Château, listed as ‘exceptional real estate of Wallonia’, was converted from a feudal fortress in the 18th century. Its classic French-style facade is adorned with wide arched bay windows and topped by a triangular pediment. There is a round tower with arrow slits, a reminder of its days as a feudal fortress. The castle, which probably dates back to the 12th century, was one of a series of fortresses protecting the County of Hainaut from the expansionist intentions of the Dukes of Brabant. Behind the chateau, you can take a stroll around a charming French garden with an English-style park at the end. There are many wonderful trees to admire, several centuries old. For five generations the Bois-Seigneur-Isaac Château has belonged to the Snoy family. It was home to Jean-Charles Snoy et d'Oppuers, a co-signatory of the Treaty of Rome which marked the birth of the European Union. Did you know that the village of Bois-Seigneur-Isaac takes its name from Isaac of Valenciennes, a member of an illustrious Hainaut family? In the late 11th century he planted a wood, which still exists today, 500 metres from the chateau along Route de Lillois.

3 Rue Armand de Moor 1421 Ophain-Bois-Seigneur-Isaac
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
- Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon -
User picture
Maison du Tourisme du Brabant wallon
1 Place du Brabant wallon
1300 Wavre (Belgique)
The application Cirkwi is already installed on your phone and you're using it at this time to view this website?
Click on the button to view the page directly from the application Cirkwi. All you have to do is click on the "Embed" button to view this route without a connection.
The application Cirkwi is already installed on your phone and you're NOT using it at this time to view this website?
To scan this QR code, use a dedicated application.
The application Cirkwi must be installed on your phone beforehand.
Once scanned, the route page opens directly in the application Cirkwi. All you have to do is click on the “embed" button. https://ws.cirkwi.com/ul/c/218663?storesstores
You haven't yet installed the application Cirkwi on your phone?
Click on the button for your OS to download the application.